Greater Flint Area Sports Hall of Fame Induction CeremonyGenesys conference & banquet center | 12.2.2023


For over 40 years, the GFASHOF has recognized and celebrated the unsurpassed history of athletic achievement and community service that has been so much a part of the Flint area.

At the formal 2023 ceremony, the honorees included: Boxers Chris Byrd (Flint Northwestern) and Deyamporte “Dee” Cavette (“Mr. Golden Gloves”); Ervin Leavy (Flint Central Basketball), Rower Ellen Tomek (Powers Catholic), the 1976 Flint Northern Class A State Champion Track & Field Team, Robaire Smith (Flint Northern Football/Basketball), Dan Skuta (Carman-Ainsworth Football), Coach Tom Dutkowski (Powers Catholic Baseball), Former Educator Dr. Duane Brown (“Father of Blooper Ball”), Lapeer West 1995 Class A Football State Championship Team, Travis Perry – 2023 Coach of the Year (Powers Hockey, 2023 State Champs), Kate Brody – 2023 Female Athlete of the Year (Grand Blanc Golf) and Jaylin Townsend – 2023 Male Athlete of the Year (Beecher Track & Field, Basketball, Football).

The newest group of inductees brings the total GFASHOF membership to 311 individuals and 85 teams since the Hall welcomed its first class in 1980. Congratulations to all!


Leave A Reply